Allegro Brillante

Music: Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky (Piano Concerto No. 3 in E-flat Major, Op. 75, 1892 [unfinished])
Choreography: George Balanchine © The George Balanchine Trust
Staging: Francia Russell
Costume Design: Mark Zappone
Lighting Design: Randall G. Chiarelli
Duration: 13 minutes
Premiere: March 1, 1956; New York City Ballet
Pacific Northwest Ballet Premiere: February 28, 1979 (Everett, Washington)

George Balanchine’s Allegro Brillante is danced to Tchaikovsky’s unfinished third piano concerto, the last music he composed before his death. In the sweeping style of the music, the choreography alternates between fast-moving ensemble passages and contrasting sections of peaceful lyricism. Although Allegro Brillante was choreographed as a last-minute replacement for a canceled work, Balanchine claimed the ballet “contains everything I know about classical ballet—in thirteen minutes.”

Notes edited by Doug Fullington, 2009.

© 2015 Pacific Northwest Ballet. All Rights Reserved.