Cylindrical Shadows


David van Bouwel, Johann Sebastian Bach, and Henry Purcell
(David ​van Bouwel: Cylindrical Shadows (2010); Johann Sebastian Bach: Concerto in D Minor after Alessandro Marcello, BWV 974/11 (Adagio, 1713-1714), Cello Suite No. 1 in G Major, BWV 1007 (Sarabande, c. 1720; Henry Purcell: Dido and Aeneas, Z. 626, (“When I am laid in earth” c. 1689))


Annabelle Lopez Ochoa


Olivier Wevers

Lighting Design

Michael Mazzola

Costume Design

Christine Joly de Lotbiniere


28 minutes


January 14, 2011; Whim W’Him

PNB Premiere

March 16, 2012

The 2012 Pacific Northwest Ballet premiere of Annabelle Lopez Ochoa’s Cylindrical Shadows, a co-creation between Whim W’Him and Pacific Northwest Ballet, was generously underwritten by Marcella McCaffray.